Library Science Meets Tarot

library-science-meets-tarot

image description: old fashion wooden card catalog with brass finishing. text over the image reads Library Science meets Tarot Cards

In the field of librarianship/information science, there is a concept called an information gap, which is fairly self explanatory. It refers to a lack of information a person needs to be fully informed on a topic. As a librarian, it’s my goal to fill those information gaps.

As a tarot reader, my goals are very much the same. The cards can provide answers to build bridges across an information gap (there is a reason there are bridge spreads!). When I come to the table as a querent, it’s because I’m missing some piece of information or some key point. Or maybe I know the information I’m seeking, but I’m lacking the ability to apply it to my situation. The archetypes in the cards give me the wording I need to sort through my experiences and make meaning of the situation.

Extending this tarot as information services, I may ask counter questions when presented with the query. A reference interview, if you will, to get to the core of the issue and clarify the question before I even touch the cards. Sometimes I won’t need clarification, but other times I may need to dig into what the issue at hand really is so I can give querents information that will be the most suited to their situation. After all, it is important to come to the table with a solid focus, or you will come away with a muddled answer. (For further reading on developing questions to ask the cards, I really enjoy Joan Bunning’s lesson on developing questions.)

Leave a Reply

